BookTrust Storytime Award in Bradford libraries

Families that visit Bradford Libraries this autumn are helping BookTrust, the UK’s largest children’s reading charity, to vote for the BookTrust Story Time Prize.

BookTrust, in collaboration with the nations libraries is piloting a new, national library experience called BookTrust Storytime which will incorporate the Story Time Prize.
Developed in partnership with libraries, local authorities and families, and funded by Arts Council England, the project will support families with children in their early years to engage with their local public library and develop an ongoing reading habit.

All libraries in Bradford will receive the six shortlisted books from the Story Time Prize, so they can choose their favourite and vote before 10 December 2021.

ADVERTISEMENT

Special interactive sessions for families will also take place at libraries across Bradford with the six shortlisted stories taking centre stage.

See below for a full calendar of BookTrust Storytime Award sessions in Bradford Libraries. Booking systems may be in place – please contact the library for more information.

Eccleshill Library

Mon 1 Nov 2pm
Mon 8 Nov 2pm
Mon 15 Nov 2pm
Mon 22 Nov 2pm
Mon 29 Nov 2pm
Mon 6 Dec 2pm

Wibsey Library

Mon 1 Nov 3.45pm
Mon 8 Nov 3.45pm
Mon 15 Nov 3.45pm
Mon 22 Nov 3.45pm
Mon 29 Nov 3.45pm
Mon 6 Dec 3.45pm

Idle Library

Mon 1 Nov 9.30am
Mon 8 Nov 9.30am
Mon 15 Nov 9.30am
Mon 22 Nov 9.30am
Mon 29 Nov 9.30am
Mon 6 Dec 9.30am

Laisterdyke Library (Rhymes & Stories)

Tues 2 Nov 9.30am
Tues 9 Nov 9.30am
Tues 16 Nov 9.30am
Tues 23 Nov 9.30am
Tues 30 Nov 9.30am
Tues 7 Dec 9.30am

Laisterdyke Library (Rhymes & Stories 2nd session)

Tues 2 Nov 10.30am
Tues 9 Nov 10.30am
Tues 16 Nov 10.30am
Tues 23 Nov 10.30am
Tues 30 Nov 10.30am
Tues 7 Dec 10.30am

Shipley Library

Tues 2 Nov 2pm
Tues 9 Nov 2pm
Tues 16 Nov 2pm

Burley Library

Tues 2 Nov 9.30am
Tues 9 Nov 9.30am
Tues 16 Nov 9.30am

Manningham Library

Weds 3 Nov 6pm
Weds 10 Nov 6pm
Weds 17 Nov 6pm
Weds 24 Nov 6pm
Weds 1 Dec 6pm
Weds 8 Dec 6pm

Silsden Library

Weds 3 Nov 2pm
Weds 1 Dec 2pm
Weds 5 Jan 2pm

Laisterdyke Library (Stories)

Thurs 4 Nov 2pm
Thurs 11 Nov 2pm
Thurs 18 Nov 2pm
Thurs 25 Nov 2pm
Thurs 2 Dec 2pm
Thurs 9 Dec 2pm

City Library

Sat 6 Nov 11am
Sat 13 Nov 11am
Sat 20 Nov 11am
Sat 27 Nov 11am
Sat 4 Dec 11am

Great Horton Library

Thurs 4 Nov 12noon
Thurs 11 Nov 12noon
Thurs 18 Nov 12noon
Thurs 25 Nov 12noon
Thurs 2 Dec 12noon
Thurs 9 Dec 12noon

Wyke Library

Fri 12 Nov 10.30am
Fri 19th Nov 10.30am
Fri 26th Nov 10.30am

Laisterdyke Library has also been chosen by BookTrust to be one of only 10 public libraries to be part of a special evaluation of the pilot. Feedback from families and staff in Laisterdyke will go forward to BookTrust to inform the pilot and any further development of the scheme nationally.

Cllr Sarah Ferriby, Bradford Council’s Executive Member for Healthy People and Places, said: “BookTrust and Bradford Libraries have worked together to ensure that families receive the free book gifting packs offered in the Early Years through their Bookstart programme. The new initiative, BookTrust Storytime Award, means that families will also be offered an experience to enhance the book gifting and to encourage more use of their local library. Sharing stories is invaluable for children in their early years and creates lifelong positive impacts on health, wellbeing, creativity and education.”

ADVERTISEMENT

Bradford Zone | NEWS